D8444/D8443 Replacement 5" Speakers: 4 Ohm Issues?

DramaBob

Feb 22, 2023
Ireland
Hi all,

Newb here, based in Ireland. I just purchased a Philips D8444 and am in the process of restoring/upgrading it. After cracking it open (and evicting two rather large and somewhat disgruntled spiders), I'm getting to grips with speaker replacement. From everything I've read here, the original speakers are weak as a newborn kitten, so upgrading makes a lot of sense. So, here's what I'm going with:
Now, hopefully, they'll all fit in the case. But that's not my major issue. The issue is that the Pioneers are 4 ohm speakers, and the associated amp is rated at 8 ohms. The logical solution would be to wire them in series to match the amp impedance. BUT, every, and I do mean every, single article I have been able to find on wiring speakers in series describes wiring two speakers in series to a single channel amp.

The amp output in the D8444 has two channels - R+/- and L+/-. And I have no idea how to wire the speakers in series when there are two channels. Do I:
  • Wire R+ to the pos terminal of the R speaker, and L- to the neg terminal of the L speaker, and link the two remaining speaker terminals to each other, OR
  • Just run both speakers through a single channel, OR
  • Just rig 'em up like the original 8 ohm speakers, and take my chances that I won't blow up the amp?
Anyway, I'm a bit lost. All thoughts welcome.

PS: a mate is 3D printing me a copy of the infamous cassette gear! Happy days.

floyd

Member (SA)
Jan 9, 2022
Maryland usa
If you do end up with taking your chances just using the 4 ohm speakers I would look into using a bigger heat sink to cool the amp ic chip and go easy on it with the volume until you feel it out . I would say pushed hard you might have problems but it's a gamble you take. The circuitry in these things is only designed to handle so much and if you push it too far they go kablooey.

hopey

Member (SA)
Dec 28, 2014
Melb AU