New member who's old and has old equipment. : )

Rallyguy

Apr 19, 2023
Toronto Canada
Glad to have found a collective of folks who share the passion for old boom boxes. I'm a long-time audiophile and drummer who's starting to collect some key pieces, mainly things that have sentimental value. First up was a Panasonic RX-DT680, which to this day amazes me with its deep, tight bass capabilities. Next was a crazy grail acquisition, the one I'd lusted after since I was a kid, the monster Technics SA-CO7. And today - I got a blast from my past, the VERY Canadian Candle JTR-1287, the box I got as a teenager, in the mid-80's. It's mechanically near perfect, everything works. I've spend a wonderful afternoon doing a deep clean while listening to a non-stop parade of old cassettes. Much fun.

Attachments

Brutus442

Member (SA)
Jan 7, 2012
Toronto, Canada
Welcome to club! I too lusted after that box after seeing it in the Consumers Distributing catalogue as a young teen. My mom ended up buying the Candle JTR 1249 which I still covet today. I used to listen to the Jays and Leafs games on it when I was doing homework and used the cassette deck more than I'd like to admit.
Cheers from another box nut from T.O.IMG_1133.JPG

Rallyguy

Apr 19, 2023
Toronto Canada