I've disco'ed up my Philips D8444!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK
OK so ever since starting to collect I've wanted to modify one but every time I got a new box I decided it was too good to mess with :nonono:

So I got two of the same box so I could keep one mint and modify the other...got a Philips D8444 as it ain't much to buy and its not the best sounding box in the world so I didn't feel too guilty messing with it :lol:

In the year I've been collecting I've done some restoration work to boxes (see viewtopic.php?f=47&t=16961&hilit=smashing+sharp) so I'm not completely clueless but I've no knowledge or experience of electronics so it was a bit scary but this is the result (hope this works as not put up a video before!):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8aNOc2V0IBI

Its all wired into the box power supply and the LEDs switch on and off with the main on/off switch, though I added a switch in the recess in the back of the box so I can switch just the lights off if the flashing induces an epileptic fit!

Hope you like it, though I'm sure the purists out there will hate it! :lol:

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK
Top work Si, that is way cool :thumbsup:

How long did this take and would you do it again?
Cheers mate! It took me Sunday afternoon to do. It was a bit tricky as the internals all had to come out and they don't come out easy like on a Sharp GF. But I'd do it again on the right box as it was great fun and I love learning new skills :thumbsup:

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK
Impressive work!! Is that in time to the music or just a repeating pattern?
Repeating pattern of 17 different sequences...the red and blue are on different cycles set to slightly different speeds so that the red/blue combinations constantly change :-D

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK