Trivia question:Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

doclasik

Member (SA)
Feb 20, 2015
It was Springtime in 1981 and I was a poor medical student barely scraping by when I came upon a WINDFALL - my grandmother gave me $300 to "buy something nice" for myself. I had coveted the Panny boomboxes for a while and remember going to a huge electronics store in New Jersey with my girlfriend to check them out.

There were EXACTLY THREE Panasonic boom boxes that I listened to that day: one was around $200, one was $300, and one was way beyond my price range ($400+??) and also significantly larger than the $300 box. I quickly narrowed it down to the Panasonic RX-5600 ($300) and the larger, more expensive Panasonic box. I agonized between them for almost an entire hour listening back and forth and back and forth until I finally convinced myself that they sounded close enough to leave the store clutching my brand new 5600 with a HUGE smile on my face.

To this day, I can't remember (or figure out) which model the more expensive boom box was - and its driving me crazy!!! I have a distinct recollection of the more expensive box sounding just a wee bit better than the 5600, but since I couldn't afford it anyway (unless I borrowed money from my girlfriend), I just got the 5600 and went on my way. To this day I still have the 5600 and it still sounds great. I even have had occasional crazy thoughts about the larger box having real wood trim on it - but I doubt that this was really the case...

Can anyone help solve this mystery for me? Please help!!!

Doc

doclasik

Member (SA)
Feb 20, 2015
I'm pretty sure that the tuner and controls were also on top (like the 5600) rather than on the bottom. The wood trim does seem to ring a bell. Was it actual wood or laminate?

doclasik

Member (SA)
Feb 20, 2015
Unbelievable - you nailed it Alex. I'm SURE this was "the one that got away"(kind of like my girlfriend back then)...