Restoration of my Sharp GF-767-H, help needed!

mrgr33n_

Aug 23, 2022
NRW, Germany
Greetings everyone.
This is my first post so please do not judge.
I am now restoring my boombox I got from a friend a couple of years ago.
In the first picture you can see it in the condition, that it was when I got it.
Due to the fact that I am an absolute newbie on that whole boombox thing, first thing I did was plugging it in and see what's happening. To my surprise everything works well, the antennas are abolutely straight, lights are working, radio works fine, both cassette-decks work perfectly (as far as I can tell) - simply put some old cassettes in and music came out of that box, nothing is scratching.
Screenshot_20220817-184941~3.png
Bad things I detected from looking at it: the paper membranes of the speakers on the outsides are torn, the chrome dustcaps in the middle and the "dubbing" knob is missing.
So I started by cleaning it up and adding some dustcaps in the original size:
IMG_20220817_184511~3.jpg
Looking way better than before!
I don't know what it is, but one can see that the right top-edge is a bit curvy. Maybe I have to take a look whats happening on the inside..
IMG_20220818_005049.jpg
Much dirt was in it, so I decided to clean it up in the first step and to take the torn speakers out.
Now I am lacking of spare parts.
I thought of replacing only the original paper membranes with new ones but they are harder to find than I thought because I want some in a similar color and most are black or grey which would not fit the rest in my opinion.
The speakers themselves are in good condition and working fineIMG_20220823_142243.jpg
IMG_20220817_222624~2.jpgIMG_20220817_222635~2.jpg
But if anyone has a pair of these for sale in Germany or is willing to ship to Germany, please tell! :)
Any idea of what those boomboxes are worth today or what I have to do to raise it in value?
Thanks in advance and have a nice day!

floyd

Member (SA)
Jan 9, 2022
Maryland usa