International SRC-2015A (20/20)

Status
Not open for further replies.

superlew

Member (SA)
Apr 22, 2012
Woburn, MA
I posted a pic of this box a couple of days ago before it was finished under "What Boombox Are You Cranking..."

Well, I finally finished it.

I got this from member Styleking at a little mini-meet we had at my place back in August, along with a Telefunken 1M. I agreed to go through his Sanyo MX-920 and figured I'd dig into the Telefunken when I was wrapped up with the Sanyo. I finished the Sanyo and took a break for a week. Then I started a huge roofing job in Boston (I'm a project manager) that cost me most of my waking hours until this past week.

Now, the Telefunken works, but is due for some TLC. The 20/20, on the other hand, was a different story.

Jerry handed it off to me partially disassembled with a plastic grocery bag of parts and told me that he was told everything was there. I'm usually skeptical about stuff like this but I trust Jerry, it cost me nothing, and I'm up for a challenge. Worst-case-scenario: I'd have plenty of parts for members who needed them. I decided to take it on before the Telefunken only because I hate to have more than one open project at a time, and this was already a project underway.

20160820_143246.jpg

After a close inspection a day or so later, I realized that it was absolutely saturated in nicotine residue, much like the one in member stevenrob's post here: https://boomboxery.com/forum/index.php/topic/25832-stop-smoking/

I like to think it spent it's working life behind the bar in a social club or something, but I have no idea. I had a lot of trouble trying to catch the filth on this thing with my old S4, but you can even see in this crappy pic a few of the spots where the nicotine stains really collected. I actually took this pic after a light coat of flat white on the woofs, just to see how they'd look behind the grills.

20160821_150302.jpg