Sanyo M-x920 Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

martimagico

Member (SA)
Apr 29, 2011
Cen Cal
hey guys im a newb here and started collecting aggressively last month. fortunately this was one of my first scores, mine is in decent shape with a few cosmetic flaws but i already love it more than any other. My question for you guys is on the tape deck. it seems to not have mechanical linkage from the buttons, and to be all electronically controlled. unfortunately mine is not responsive. any ideas? i've read up on a few other models and they mentioned belts when you hear the motor, but there is no indication or motor noise. the amss led#1 lights and stays lit when the stereo is switched over to tape, but nothing else happens when you start pressing buttons.
i also have a burnt out dial bulb i believe. how does the dial for the light work?

thanks!

baddboybill

Member (SA)
Jul 14, 2009
Hudson Florida
This deck is automatic control when motor turns so most likely needs a good cleaning and rebelt all of which is not an easy task for this model. Good luck and ask questions and take lots of pictures if you decide to work on it :thumbsup:

martimagico

Member (SA)
Apr 29, 2011
Cen Cal
:huh:

im not sure im willing to kill this box. it'd be a shame. i might take it to the local repair shop, but dont wanna overpay or end up getting ripped off.
i have a jvc biphonic that needs some love too, that one is less intimidating maybe i should ease on in?

Fatdog

Staff member
May 3, 2009
martimagico said:
... that one is less intimidating maybe i should ease on in?
Opening up a boombox can be a little intimidating the first time. Everything will be fine as long as you take your time and document everything you do - either with pictures or some kind of small notepad. Pretty soon, you'll be able to do most of them blindfolded. :yes: