9494 Capstan Black Goo!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

alfie

Member (SA)
Mar 11, 2010
Sydney, Australia
After cleaning up the new gf9494 I found the dreaded, mangled black goo.

Where do i replace it?????

I'm pretty new to the mechanics of the tape deck. Any help would be awesome :-D :-D :-D

beatbox

Member (SA)
May 28, 2009
I've used these before a few times. Saves having to cut any tubing. Works great too and a perfect fit!

Get them at most toy shops.

Fatdog

Staff member
May 3, 2009
My daughter has thousands of those things around here. I'll keep that in mind for the next goo attack. :yes:

alfie

Member (SA)
Mar 11, 2010
Sydney, Australia
Hey guys, thanks for the help.

I've replaced the goo bit with the rc silicon tubing however the problem now is that nothing turns :huh: :sad:

The motor kicks in but it wont turn the tape or ff or rew?

Any theories on what I might have done wrong? All the belts are in the right place but nothing is happening.

I'm desperate to get this bad boy in fully operational condition because after a clean she's looking beautiful :-D

Fatdog

Staff member
May 3, 2009
If you know for certain that the belts are the correct size and in the correct location, I'd suggest checking for dirty or missing idler tires.

alfie

Member (SA)
Mar 11, 2010
Sydney, Australia
Ok. After having a serious tinker with the mechanism I think i've found the problem.
I can get it to spin round but I have to pinch the large belt at the back (kind of manually tighten it).

I'm guessing this means I need to replace the belt as it has worn and become slack over time?

alfie

Member (SA)
Mar 11, 2010
Sydney, Australia
I understand where you're coming from entirely. Luckily I've got a belt on a sharp parts box which is the same size :-)
I'll try it out with this belt to see if that solves my problem then I'll order a heap of spare belts for my sharps :-D

alfie

Member (SA)
Mar 11, 2010
Sydney, Australia
Fixed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!