Guidance/info on these speakers/woofers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheDood723

Member (SA)
Oct 5, 2017
Hey guys, just a quick question. My uncle has all these different sized speakers/woofers from someone who built competition trucks (the competitions where they see who has the baddest bassiest woofers I guess). There are a few sets of 6.5 inch ones and my TRK-8200 has one low sounding, faded woofer. These would fit the screw holes, have to check depth. The issue is, there aren't any specs on them... Is the print in these pics of any help/use? This would be my first woofer replacement, and I'd need to know they're compatible with the 8200... any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated as always... Thank you 😁 (also I'm new to speakers and have been trying to understand ohms and the importance of that kind of thing.. not much luck tho

IMG_20180526_164601.jpg
IMG_20180526_164611.jpg
IMG_20180526_164627.jpg
IMG_20180526_164707.jpg

JVC Floyd

Inactive (Delete)
May 6, 2009
Maryland USA.
The best way to test the impedances to probe the terminals with a multimeter and it will show the exact resistance. Just set the multimeter to ohms and put the positive to positive and negative to negative.

Superduper

Member (SA)
Boomboxes typically use full range speakers. If you go with these, and they are true “subwoofers”, you may find they have good bass but overall sound quality lacking and muffled as they can’t reproduce mids & highs well, if at all. These look like they are really beefy & heavy. Not sure if the plastic cabinets can handle them and almost certainly couldn’t be safely shipped if installed for fear of cracking cabinets due to the extra stress. However all this might be moot. You’d have to check & confirm but they most likely are too deep to fit anyhow, as most classic 1-pc Boomboxes use quite shallow drivers.

TheDood723

Member (SA)
Oct 5, 2017
Thanks J and Super for the advice 😁. I'll look into full ranges then 😎