VZ-2000 Left speaker dead?

Status
Not open for further replies.

StarWolf

Member (SA)
Mar 31, 2018
Hello everyone! Complete novice here, but i'll try my best

A few days ago I got the opportunity to to buy my first Boombox. I spotted a VZ-2000 being sold just a 15 minute walk away from where i live and just had to have it! needless to say I carried it home :cool: I've wanted one of these for years, so I'm excited to finally own one!

It looks to be in good condition, albeit missing half the sliders and the Record player makes a grindy buzzing sound when i try to play a Vinyl (I'm guessing that means it needs a new belt?) but the main issue i want to tackle is the left speaker appears to be almost dead.

Things to note-
  • I've tried Fiddling with the Balance Slider - It does what it's supposed to, but the left speaker barely emmits any sound (at max volume and my ear to the speaker, I can just about hear some coming through)
  • I plugged my computer speakers into the Phones Jack and flipped the switch at the back to external speakers. The same thing happens with my computer speakers, with sound only coming from the right side of them.

I've read all the VZ-2000 topics on the forums here, and gather that most sound issues are solved by opening the unit up, and spraying the switches with contact cleaner. I've got a copy of the disassembly guide with images from here, so I'll give that a try when i get some, along with a new belt, but thought i'd make a post here to double check just in case it could be anything else.

So, can I fix it? :'-( I'm in London (UK) If anyone knows someone who might be able to help, if It's something you think a novice won't be able to deal with.

Thanks!

JVC Floyd

Inactive (Delete)
May 6, 2009
Maryland USA.
Its most likely bad contact in the function switches .
I have 3 of these and if I let them sit long enough. Have the same problem , I have to fiddle with the function switches to get them to play on both channels.