Just found a Sharp GF-9292X

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 20, 2018
Copenhagen
Hi,
this is my first post and also my first boombox I just found in a small electronics shop in the streets of Istanbul for 10 euros. I don't know anything about boomboxes, but I do remember the older kids in school back in the early 90's pumping tunes from their Sharp's.

My plan is the restore the unit but I have no experience more then cleaning some tape heads and demagnetise some tape delays so all help and tips I can get from here is very appreciated.

The unit is very dusty but it turns on and I can tune in something on FM but the volume is very low. The AM, SW1, SW2 does not tune in anything what I can hear. The cassette unit doesn't spin but I can hear the motor working from inside. Also the counter reset button is stucked in pressed position.

-Does anyone have a service manual to share?
-What chemicals is recommended to clean the units inside and outside?
-Where do I best order new belts and pinch roller?

Again, all help and tips are very very appreciated!

IMG_0978 copy.JPG
IMG_0979 copy.JPG
IMG_0980 copy.JPG
IMG_0981 copy.JPG
IMG_0983 copy.JPG
IMG_0984 copy.JPG

//Mathias

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK
Wow that’s a super bargain! Well done!

One of the easiest to work on tho so totally fixable. Same basics as a 9191 which is really common. I did a thread on stripping one down a few years back which should be on here somewhere

Timecop1987

Member (SA)
Jul 24, 2017
magnificient!! Besides the GF-9696 the 9292 is the most beautiful boombox of the 9x9x-series imho! I hope to find one too someday - 10€ is a steal!!

I agree with Northerner. Working on these things is pretty easy.