Project 8585

Status
Not open for further replies.

c bank

Member (SA)
Dec 4, 2017
Manchester UK
I plan to document here my Sharp GF 8585E restoration.
The finished item will be a work horse not a showpiece and carried out within a
strict budget. I've never done anything like this before so I see a steep learning curve ahead.
What I lack in knowledge I make up for with enthusisim .. hope that's enough .. for now. Knowledge can be gained along the way... I guess.

Mine is due to arrive sometime this week but it kinda looks like this ...(random GF8585 from web)

Attachments

T-STER

Member (SA)
Jul 14, 2014
UK
Yup I had one of these which i refurbished and sold and was sad to see it go, nice box that perfotmed well.

c bank

Member (SA)
Dec 4, 2017
Manchester UK
Thanks fellas.

So, plan of action

1, assessment -external (take pics)
2, assessment - internal ( take lots of pics)
3, have ordered isopropyl alcohol for cleaning both case
And internal components.
4, stock up on cotton buds, lint free cloth, stiff bristle
Paint Brush for cleaning internals
5, dig out the DA car polisher and G3 for polishing the clear plastic tuner frequency panel
6, take pics
7, try to get tape mechanism to play.
... that should be enough for this weekend

Northerner

Member (SA)
Apr 16, 2012
North West UK
Use isopropyl for stuff like tape heads but be careful on paint as it can remove it if you’re not careful. Soap and water is all that a case needs generally

c bank

Member (SA)
Dec 4, 2017
Manchester UK
Northerner said:
Use isopropyl for stuff like tape heads but be careful on paint as it can remove it if you’re not careful. Soap and water is all that a case needs generally
Thanks for the heads up. I'll use washing up liquid !

c bank

Member (SA)
Dec 4, 2017
Manchester UK
Well i have it !
its in pretty good shape , and mostly accurately described by the seller.

A few questions for you experts ..

How do you find the year of manufacture ?