Can anybody help with my GF-9494?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PGDowling17

Member (SA)
Oct 12, 2016
England
Hi all, this is my first post here. I was directed here from from Facebook group, so I think it'd be best for me to re-post my queries here:

New member here. I'm fairly inexperienced (this is my first unit), and I need help. I got this GF-9494 a couple months back, everything was working fine until it started chewing up tapes badly after a couple weeks. I read online that I need to change the belts and clean the heads, pinch roller and capstan. I found replacement belts online, but I have no idea how to change them. I also don't know where the pinch roller and capstan are. I told you I'm a rookie, haha. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

I'm struggling to remove the belt/motor assembly. I've removed 2 screws below the tape mechanism, pulled out the wires from the clip to the circuit board, and I've found a plastic clip at the bottom.....

...but something is still holding it at the top. I removed the top by pulling off the plastic sliders and nobs, but I still can't find how to remove the assembly. Can anybody give me instructions on how to get the mechanism out so I can change the belts? This is also turning into a much bigger task than I expected because at some point in the past it's clearly been dropped as I've just noticed two big chips in the bottom plastic of the casing, and one of the corner screws doesn't do up at all (maybe it's been overtightened?) making it extremely difficult to align the case when putting it back together again. Would there be any way to fix this issue with the screw?

Finally, could somebody whose changed the belts on a GF-9494 confirm that these measurements are correct for replacement belts
http://www.turntableneedles.com/Square-Belt-Small-74-Inch_p_454.html
http://www.turntableneedles.com/Square-Belt-Small-70-Inch_p_446.html
http://www.turntableneedles.com/Flat-Belt-Small-102-Inch_p_50.html