Hitachi TRK 8080e Tape Deck does not produce sound.

Status
Not open for further replies.

heeron

Member (SA)
Sep 30, 2016
Hey there!
I've been tinkering with this tape-deck for about a week. Changed the belts and cleaned/lubed everything.
As far as I can see everything is working - mechanically at least. The tape plays/forward/rewind without issue, but the it doesn't produce any sound.

Do you have any ideas where I should go from here?
Is there a way to check if the tape heads are still working? I mean manually shorting them in order to produce a tone through the speaker? Or using a multimeter to see if they get the proper signals? The wires seem to be in working order.
I'm new to everything audio so any help would be appreciated.
20160930_170727.jpg
20160930_170749.jpg

ralrein1

Member (SA)
Greetings heeron,we boombox guys and gal on this here site kinda dig it if you introduce yourself first. Since that didn't happen(maybe you just forgot to do it)I'll try to help. My limited knowledge says to do this. Get yourself some Deoxit D5 and spray it into the mode,selector switch and wiggle that sucker 20 or 30 times. Then squirt some into the Record Bar and work it back and forth 30 or more times. I had a Realistic box that I acquired on vacation this summer and it wouldn't put out sound on cassette either. Even though it mechanically worked. So I had to spray into the function switch multiple times and switched it back and forth between tape and radio. I mean I had to do it a lot! Then finally after 6 or 7 good blasts of Deoxit and all that switching it finally began to have sound on tape. Make sure to sop up all the extra liquid with toilet paper and let it sit for awhile(4 to 6 hours)then fire her up. Hopefully that will do the trick. Good luck to you,let us know how it turns out.

heeron

Member (SA)
Sep 30, 2016
Thanks for the reply. I apologize for not doing the proper introduction.

I will try what you suggested and report back!

baddboybill

Member (SA)