Help repair Panasonic boombox

Status
Not open for further replies.

Namtraf

Member (SA)
Mar 21, 2015
Staten Island, NY
Hello. This is my first post here. I was wondering if anyone can help me. I have 2 Panasonic boomboxes, a RX-F33 and a RX-FT530A, that need repairs. I discussed the problems at length on another message board.

Here is the link:

http://www.stereo2go.com/topic/help-repair-panasonic-boombox

If you would like more information about my boombox issues, please read that thread. I don't feel like re-writing that entire thread here. As a newbie, I hope I am not breaking any rules by posting the above link. If I am, I apologize.

I am located in Staten Island, NY. Specifically, I am looking for a reputable boombox repair technician in my area (the metro New York City area). Can anyone here recommend anyone?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

caution

Member (SA)
Mar 25, 2014
Boomboxery
Hi there! I read through your posts on the other site.

Even if you do manage to locate a willing electronics repair shop, you'll probably pay them as much to diagnose and repair it as you did when you originally bought it new.

As I'm sure you're well aware, working on these can quickly become frustrating if you're not prepared. You need the right tools, you need to take ample notes, pictures, and keep track of all parts organized and labeled. If you've got the patience and will to get these fixed on your own, we'd be happy to walk you through the process if you provide all of the information asked of you.

Another option is purchasing another boombox, if you don't have too much sentimental value attached to the ones you have.

superlew

Member (SA)
Apr 22, 2012
Woburn, MA
Here's a good place to start (as far st as the 570 is concerned):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYqEGEyJDqA

A lot of Panny's use this single-motor setup for their dual deck units. By "Boombox" standards, they're pretty easy to work on.