Jump to content



Photo

M70 & M90 with hardwired bluetooth module mod.


  • Please log in to reply
241 replies to this topic

#31 riker1068

riker1068
  • Members (SA)
  • 1,069 posts
  • LocationFLORIDA Jacksonville

Posted 13 March 2015 - 09:07 AM

Wish I was lucky and found a hundred stamp sheet of Bart Simpsons ;)

#32 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 13 March 2015 - 09:44 AM

Anyways, with connecting it, have you noticed it being any different if you wait say, 30 seconds after powering up the module?

 

 

I left the module powered up and linked via Bluetooth playing through my 5350 for about 2 hours. It never cut out. Signal was good and strong, no issues that I could tell. Just the occasional connecting problem when first powered up.



#33 jimmyjimmy19702010

jimmyjimmy19702010
  • Members (SA)
  • 3,559 posts
  • LocationSunny Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 March 2015 - 02:51 PM

It looks like the sort of setup I'm after for my DIY boxes. Currently I'm using a $7 USB style dongle. It works fine but an internal setup is definately preferable although it would end up costing me around $60 each in AUDs!! The thing is this $7 Bluetooth dongle automatically syncs with my IPhone every time in a couple of seconds.

It would be great if you could pin point the cause of your occasional sync issues.

#34 Alberto

Alberto
  • Members (SA)
  • 565 posts
  • LocationWallingford,Ct. USA

Posted 13 March 2015 - 02:55 PM

I think I have those black handle tensioners around here somewhere. :yes:



#35 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 13 March 2015 - 09:47 PM

Some progress!

Swapped out the RCA jack panel that was broken. Also changed out the plug port by the power supply.

Attached File  image.jpg   66.38K   9 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   65.42K   7 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   71.8K   6 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   87.13K   10 downloads


To make this short and sweet, I wanted a designated button to turn the BT module on or off whenever I wanted but with using an existing switch or switch hole. I was going to modify the beat-mode switch that no one ever uses, but I wasn't digging that.

I was checking out the 'record mute' hold down button and saw that this is the best spot! I would need a 1 click on/1 click off type switch. My parts box lasonic 922 saves the day again! Metal mounting bar and switch fit perfect where the original rec mute button was.

Just unplug the rec mute board and take it out. No permanent modification needed! I just need to run my 12v+ supply and BT+ to the switch and run my black- from the BT to the ground on the main board.





Thats it for tonight LOL.


Attached File  image.jpg   76.01K   8 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   57.98K   9 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   62.64K   10 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   68.07K   10 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   72.56K   10 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   70.97K   9 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   87.63K   9 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   84.39K   8 downloads

#36 trippy1313

trippy1313
  • Members (SA)
  • 1,965 posts
  • LocationSeattle-Tacoma, WA

Posted 13 March 2015 - 10:06 PM

Haha, wow, what are the chances?!? That's perfect!

#37 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 13 March 2015 - 10:20 PM

Looks like you can even score some of these switches with the support bar complete on epay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/191170327664

http://www.ebay.com/itm/111612052765


Or without the bar:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/121136664039

#38 jimmyjimmy19702010

jimmyjimmy19702010
  • Members (SA)
  • 3,559 posts
  • LocationSunny Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 March 2015 - 10:29 PM

Nice work - with that factory look we all like! Where are you taking the 12v from?

#39 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 13 March 2015 - 10:30 PM

Wait, where are you getting 12 volts from again? That's a 15 volt box and probably 17-18v on AC. However if you know where to look, you can take power from one of the 12v regulators or just build a regulator... It's not that hards.

#40 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 13 March 2015 - 10:33 PM

I didn't narrow down my 12v regulated supply just yet. I did test some spots that were seeing up to about 20v. It will probably be the regulated 12v for the cassette deck.

#41 trippy1313

trippy1313
  • Members (SA)
  • 1,965 posts
  • LocationSeattle-Tacoma, WA

Posted 14 March 2015 - 07:47 PM

Wait... 15v box? Isnt the M70 like 13.5, or 12? I don't have mine near to look.

#42 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 14 March 2015 - 08:07 PM

1.5v per battery. 10 batteries. = 15v.


Right now I am going to pull power from the connector on the main board where the power supply connects. It is 20v, so I will have to resistor it down to something in the 10-12v range.

#43 trippy1313

trippy1313
  • Members (SA)
  • 1,965 posts
  • LocationSeattle-Tacoma, WA

Posted 14 March 2015 - 08:23 PM

I haven't had batteries in my M70 for so long, based on its size I thought it was 8 or 9 batteries.

I've pretty much always plugged it in.

#44 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 16 March 2015 - 08:13 AM

Sorry for no updates. I was working on the house all weekend and am getting sick. Booooo.



#45 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 17 March 2015 - 10:21 PM

#1 problem holding me up is the power source. I'm just going to have to make a 12v regulated power for the BT module..... Only problem is I DON'T KNOW HOW, I'm stuck. This should be way easier to get a 12v signal in this radio. I ran 2 1k resistors in series and it would not drop the 20v power down at all, what is going on with that?! I thought it would be as simple as getting some resistors in there and I was wrong.


Right now I am finished tapping the line-in pads on the PCB.

I tried using 12v at the cassette motor but as soon as I plug in the boombox I get this horrid buzzing noise and I unplugged it right away and desoldered my power/ground connections.


 

 

Here are a few side panel pictures so you can see how nice everything is labeled on the board. Sorry for the sideways pics. You can see directly under the line-in jacks the solder pads for (+) left and right as well as the shared (-) pads and traces. 
Attached File  image.jpg   87K   18 downloads

Attached File  image.jpg   110.5K   21 downloads

Attached File  image.jpg   69.03K   16 downloads

 

 

Cut the RCA ends off your BT module. Red is (+) 'right' and White is (+) 'left'. The bare copper shown is neutral (-) shared between the 2 signals at the PCB. Those will be twisted together and soldered to the board on the same pad. Another thing to remember is that the center pin of a RCA plug is positive (+), the outer ring is of the plug is negative (-) or 'common'. 

Attached File  image.jpg   51.69K   8 downloads

 

 

Solder the red (+) 'right' signal wire to the RCA jack pad shown below.

Attached File  image.jpg   98.67K   9 downloads

 

Solder the white (+) 'left' signal wire to the RCA jack pad shown below.

Attached File  image.jpg   92.83K   10 downloads

 

For the shared (-) line I twisted the two together and soldered another black wire whip to those for some slack and because the wires twisted together were really chunky and too big to make a clean connection to the PCB. So the black wire is the shared (-) and is soldered to a shared ground/common/(-) pad as shown below. 

Attached File  image.jpg   85.6K   17 downloads

 

Attached File  image.jpg   82.5K   20 downloads

 

 

 

 

 

I was having the problem getting my BT signal to get into the line-in circuit. These RCA jacks are kind of like a 'switched' type where you have to have a physical rca plug pushed into the jack for the input to work. When a rca plug is not in the jack, I noticed the common (-) and positive (+) legs touch in the back of the jack when nothing is inserted. Norm told me that this is because it is designed to short (+) to ground to prevent/reduce noise from getting into the system.

 

My solution was to just bend the ground tab away from the positive tab so it won't short anymore. It was the easiest solution I could figure at the time, but I don't know if long term is going to be OK.

 

Notice the back side of the red and white jack. There is a tab that hovers across the middle that is (-) and is stationary. The tab that comes up from the bottom is the (+) and is sprung UP to touch the (-) tab when nothing is inserted.

Attached File  image.jpg   73.5K   12 downloads

 

I took the (-) tab and bent it away so it doesn't touch anymore on the red and white jack.

Red jack tab bent, white jack tab not bent (both red and white jack tabs will need to be bent out of the way):

Attached File  image.jpg   58.25K   12 downloads

Attached File  image.jpg   56.76K   14 downloads

 

 

 

Red wire to the far right is 12v (+) BEFORE the switch. When switch is depressed it then will send 12v (+) through the switch and into the red wire that is attached to the center pin of the switch. This turns the BT module on/off with a simple push of the button so it isn't always on.

Attached File  image.jpg   64.11K   18 downloads

 

 

This is an overall picture with the BT module routed in the chassis.

Attached File  image.jpg   103.92K   18 downloads



#46 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 17 March 2015 - 11:23 PM

#1 problem holding me up is the power source. I'm just going to have to make a 12v regulated power for the BT module..... Only problem is I DON'T KNOW HOW, I'm stuck. This should be way easier to get a 12v signal in this radio. I ran 2 1k resistors in series and it would not drop the 20v power down at all, what is going on with that?! I thought it would be as simple as getting some resistors in there and I was wrong.

Hahahaha.  Joe, it's an extremely common mistake.  EVERYONE seems to think resistors cut voltage.  Resistors cut CURRENT, not voltage.

 

In your case, the current draw of a meter is so low, to the extent that it will have virtually NO EFFECT on the source voltage supply because it's almost as if no current is flowing.  I'm a bit busy right now but #1, can you put your blutooth device in series with your meter using the amps measuring mode and then find out how much current your blue tooth device consumes while operating.  Don't just turn it on, actually play some music through it.  If the current draw is low enough, then you might be able to "sneak" some juice through one of the M70's internal regulators.  And no, the cassette motor is not regulated as far as I know.  If not, then I can send you a 12v regulator chip and you can use it to build your supply.  It's not that hard.  Or depending upon how much current is needed, we can even use a simple zener diode, resistor and NPN transistor to build one.



#47 jimmyjimmy19702010

jimmyjimmy19702010
  • Members (SA)
  • 3,559 posts
  • LocationSunny Brisbane, Australia

Posted 17 March 2015 - 11:26 PM

Why not use one of these little things? - you run power to the module, hook up your volt meter to the other end and adjust the pot until you get 12 volts. They are a pretty small module so you should have room somewhere inside an M70.
Under $4 shipped.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=131388173416
James.... :-)

#48 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 17 March 2015 - 11:42 PM

That's an easy solution.  But again, if current consumption of his module is low enough, just sneak some from the onboard regulator is easiest.

 

Why not use one of these little things? - you run power to the module, hook up your volt meter to the other end and adjust the pot until you get 12 volts. They are a pretty small module so you should have room somewhere inside an M70.
Under $4 shipped.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=131388173416
James.... :-)



#49 jimmyjimmy19702010

jimmyjimmy19702010
  • Members (SA)
  • 3,559 posts
  • LocationSunny Brisbane, Australia

Posted 17 March 2015 - 11:45 PM

That's an easy solution.  But again, if current consumption of his module is low enough, just sneak some from the onboard regulator is easiest.


Sorry Norm, I wasn't responding to your response as it was posted while I was finding the Ebay link.

#50 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 18 March 2015 - 12:28 AM

I know that Jimmy and Joe may have to go that route, of adding a regulator. That one is cheap and simple and will work. But if he can tap off the system, then he won't need to juggle another module and try to find room for it, etc.

#51 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:42 AM

Updated my pictures with wordzzzzz.

 

 

I'm going to get out my circuit diagram and see if they have a 12v marked so I have a starting point for power. The goal is to install this BT module without a pile of other parts needed to make it work. Trying to go the simplest route and also the safest because I don't want you guys damaging your M70 because of a mistake I made.



#52 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:51 AM

 can you put your blutooth device in series with your meter using the amps measuring mode and then find out how much current your blue tooth device consumes while operating.  Don't just turn it on, actually play some music through it.  If the current draw is low enough, then you might be able to "sneak" some juice through one of the M70's internal regulators.  And no, the cassette motor is not regulated as far as I know.  If not, then I can send you a 12v regulator chip and you can use it to build your supply.  It's not that hard.  Or depending upon how much current is needed, we can even use a simple zener diode, resistor and NPN transistor to build one.

 

 

I will check the current tonight and report back.

 

 

The cassette motor is strange.... when the boombox is OFF and the motor is not running I am getting 20v at the motor. I thought that was strange. When the boombox is ON, even if the motor is still not running, one of the motor pads drops to 12v. I tapped my (+) there to feed the BT module, keeping in mind to make sure the BT switch was OFF so I didn't accidently feed 20v into the module. I just wanted to do some testing but as soon as I plugged in the boombox is when I got the nasty buzzing noise in the speakers, so I took the power feed off the motor.



#53 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 March 2015 - 09:47 AM

Why not use one of these little things? - you run power to the module, hook up your volt meter to the other end and adjust the pot until you get 12 volts. They are a pretty small module so you should have room somewhere inside an M70.
Under $4 shipped.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=131388173416
James.... :-)

 

^ That is a great option and pretty dang cheap too. Thanks. Hopefully I don't have to go that route, but who knows anything is possible!



#54 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 March 2015 - 10:19 AM

Looking over the schematic and there seems to be an excellent 12v source by the MMS board connector. There is also a 12v source at the AMP board connector.

 

Page 14 in the PDF.

 

Attached File  12v.jpg   82.2K   19 downloads



#55 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 18 March 2015 - 05:57 PM

Joe, I believe that rail is powered by X505 (2SD439).  Check and verify but if it is, it's a pretty robust device so you should be fine (I'm only guessing since you didn't provide current consumption data of your bluetooth:  you need to measure to be sure).  You might want to avoid using the cassette deck simultaneously if you do use that rail, as the autostop feature relies on that rail as it powers the autostop solenoid.  As you know, those solenoids can consume a lot of curent.  But chances are that you'll be fine and if it blows, you can rebuild that regulator rather easily.



#56 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:20 PM

Oh, I will still test the current of the BT module. I was just doing some leg work today so I had a plan of attack tonight if I get to it.

#57 Lasonic TRC-920

Lasonic TRC-920
  • Moderators
  • 14,058 posts
  • LocationNaples, Italy

Posted 18 March 2015 - 08:49 PM

Fantastic Thread Guys.

 

I think I am going to follow suit  :yes:  :-D

 

:popcorn:



#58 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,503 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 March 2015 - 06:25 PM

0.022 amps the BT module draws while on and playing music.

#59 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 19 March 2015 - 06:44 PM

Hard to believe it would draw that little but that's great. Go for it bro. That X505 regulator rail should handle it with no issues.

#60 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,853 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 19 March 2015 - 06:44 PM

You did put the meter probes in series into the circuit right?