Jump to content



Photo

Fixing a legend.....


  • Please log in to reply
279 replies to this topic

#61 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 15 January 2014 - 01:42 PM

I need something like this:

 

tools_vise.jpg



#62 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,877 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 15 January 2014 - 05:09 PM

I need something like this:

 

The base (panavise) is correct.  But that head is not the one you want.

 

You want one of these to mate with the panavise base.  It swivels, flips, and the PCB holder is spring loaded so the board can be released with a simple lever flip. 

 

333.jpg



#63 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 15 January 2014 - 08:56 PM

Can that ^ really hold the entire 5350 circuit board???? It doesn't look like it because that board is huge.

#64 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 15 January 2014 - 10:07 PM



#65 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 16 January 2014 - 09:17 AM

^ I see that his home made PCB holder is great for small stuff. BBXlver and Superduper, you guys both know how big the board is from the Panny 5350, there is no way these holders you guys are showing me will support the weight of the board. I also don't need the holder to hold the board entirely off the table, I only need something to hold the board up with the long sides facing up and down. Just enough to keep it standing on edge so it won't tip over......



#66 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,877 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 16 January 2014 - 09:29 AM

It holds it fine

#67 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 16 January 2014 - 09:56 AM

Okey dokey! That holder just looks so small.



#68 Superduper

Superduper
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 6,877 posts
  • LocationSomewhere over the rainbow, USA

Posted 16 January 2014 - 10:51 AM

It's beefy, the base is weighted/heavy and I've held up many large boards.  Might not hold really wide boards but no reason you can't hold it in the narrow position.  It can be set to straight up/down or any angle you want.  Also, it can rotate easily (simply depress and rotate to next detent).  The round base in your image can be bolted down to the table/workbench.  Mine is screwed onto a metal circular platter with compartments for holding parts (caps?) thereby giving it additional weight and spreading the footprint.  Ii also have the one with the legs and it might look small in the picture but it's not.  I think it's footprint is about a foot square.  Be advised, the panavise system is not cheap so be prepared to shell out some bucks (more than you paid for the caps) if you want to go that route.  For a single job, maybe not worth it.  However, if you plan to do more in the future, it's a good investment.  I build all my M70 lamp modules on those as I can hold multiple boards (in a row) while I do the assembly.  Oh yeah, the panavise system is a modular system starting with the base.  From there, any number of accessories such as vises, clamps, etc can be used on it. The PCB holder is just another accessory to build onto the panavise.



#69 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:17 AM

Okay! If you have trouble with a holder use a 2 inch thick soft (~1'X1') urethane foam. I always used that when I work on boards. They all float on a foam air cushion.

No components will get hurt.

I have so many foam pieces at differebt sizes. sometimes I use 2 or 3 a 1"X1" X1" soft foam pieces for the work. Always look where they rest, not on any trimmers.



#70 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 16 January 2014 - 11:43 AM

Might not hold really wide boards but no reason you can't hold it in the narrow position. 

 

Actually, I don't know that the board can be held in the narrow position because of the tuner being mounted on one of the long sides and covers the entire side.... I'll have to look at it again.

 

I'm sure I will just make something to hold it up instead of buying one right now.



#71 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 January 2014 - 02:34 PM

1.5 hrs in and about 45 caps done.


.Attached File  0118141340.jpg   80.94K   14 downloads

#72 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 18 January 2014 - 02:40 PM

To tell the truth you are throwing away lots of good caps...

 

Mine works like a charm!

 

No comments! :w00t:  :-D  :-D



#73 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 January 2014 - 03:20 PM

I won't throw them away just yet. I really hope this fixes the motorboating.

#74 jimmyjimmy19702010

jimmyjimmy19702010
  • Members (SA)
  • 3,563 posts
  • LocationSunny Brisbane, Australia

Posted 18 January 2014 - 03:37 PM

I won't throw them away just yet. I really hope this fixes the motorboating.

My neighbor mentioned his work collegue had a Panasonic RX-C45 with the same motorboating issue that was solved 100% after a re-cap.

I think your Panny will sound fantastic when you're finished.

Keep going!

James.... :-)

#75 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 January 2014 - 05:59 PM

I only have 24 more to do on the main board! Gotta stop again, dinner time. Don't know if I will get back to it tonight......


Attached File  0118141758.jpg   54.87K   15 downloads

#76 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 18 January 2014 - 07:07 PM

Once you are in the mood.....just do it and finish it. That is the right way! :yes:

Then wake up with a smile to check and enjoy it! :thumbsup:

In my case when I am into it I have to finish it.... or else ..I get so impatient

 

Don't listen to me... I am getting old..



#77 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 18 January 2014 - 07:37 PM

I have to step away with a 2.5yr old and a 5mo old. If I ever get anytime to myself during the day time its pretty rare. I'm the same way because I always had to finish a project when started. I learned with engine building and motor swaps that it shouldn't all be done in one sitting. Ill get to it soon. Maybe tonight when the kiddies go to sleep or tomorrow ;)

#78 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 18 January 2014 - 10:11 PM

Life is not easy when you have young ones to take care of. Now I have a 10 month GS puppy (he is HUGE) to take care of. I am so tied up with with him and his needs. Actually it changed my complete life style...We got him when he was barely..3 weeks old... he was so small... so cute!

 

He is so much fun... Just walked out to use the snow blower and he got so upset with me.

 

God! They are adorable..loving animals! I want to be a loyal owner..there goes all my time for playing with boomboxes and all...till he mature a lot!

See my puppy Duke..barely 10 months old..

Attached Files



#79 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 11:07 AM

I finished re-capping the main board and stuck it back together.



This is what it sounds like:





Now that I think about it there was one really big cap on the main board I didn't replace, you guys think that could be the one worth trying to change first? For some reason I forgot to order it......

#80 mmcodomino

mmcodomino
  • Members (SA)
  • 2,001 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 19 January 2014 - 12:46 PM

Oh no  :

I really hope you get it sorted out. Maybe this is the point to bring it to a workshop? EVen though they'll charge a few dollars, it is most likely that you'll get it back fully working.

When I got my National Panasonic 5350F, it also only made a buzzing sound. The workshop told me that they replaced the ICs in the amp section...

Good luck with it!



#81 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 01:42 PM

I'm ok with throwing money at replacement parts and trying on my own. Right now I'm still happy because I know I didn't make it worse :lol:. I see your point though, we don't have any local repair places here :-/.

#82 baddboybill

baddboybill
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 10,998 posts
  • LocationHudson Florida

Posted 19 January 2014 - 02:11 PM

Joe did you replace the large caps on power board? Did you try with batteries?


Bad Boy Bill

#83 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 02:20 PM

Didn't replace the power board caps. I will try batteries quick.

#84 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 02:48 PM

I remember looking at the main power board and there weren't any caps on it that I could re-call. Just looked at it again and there isn't any electrolytic capacitors on it.

 

Tried on batteries after sanding the contacts and it is the same result, just the constant motorboating.

 

 

The big black cap on the main board I didn't replace is a 4700uf 25V. I'm going to get that ordered so I can try that next. I don't want to swap caps on the tuner board because it might throw off the tuner, right?

 

 

Either way, I'm glad I have all the main caps replaced so when the problem is figured out this thing will JAM!



#85 -GZ-

-GZ-
  • Members (SA)
  • 2,235 posts
  • LocationBoom Central

Posted 19 January 2014 - 03:43 PM

I know you'll figure it out, Joe.

#86 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:00 PM

Thanks Greg - every little bit of support helps to motivate on getting this working again. It was tedious work but I am 100% sure every cap I replaced is installed in the correct polarity and rating. I want to thank Norm (superpooper) for some behind the scenes tips for a re-cap of this size. I appreciate all the help from everyone.

 

I ordered the 4700/25 cap off epay, so maybe it will be here by tuesday. I'll replace that cap and look over the ICs again for any damage I might have missed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PS, any of you 5350 owners know where the other end of this brown wire goes????

 

 

Attached File  1-19-14 001.jpg   56.36K   13 downloads

 



#87 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:15 PM

Here are some other pictures I just loaded up.

 

 

 

Attached File  1-19-14 003.jpg   86.39K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 004.jpg   79.14K   14 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 005.jpg   80.84K   17 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 006.jpg   80.49K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 009.jpg   69.95K   14 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 010.jpg   64.49K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 011.jpg   78.23K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 013.jpg   74.98K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 014.jpg   66.46K   15 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 015.jpg   63.71K   14 downloads

Attached File  1-19-14 016.jpg   65.23K   12 downloads

 



#88 BoomboxLover48

BoomboxLover48
  • Boomus Fidelis
  • 5,267 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:35 PM

I believe that is a test lead!

I could be wrong!

 

The leads of R404, R424 (low value resistor built into the PC board) got lots of oxidation that looks from battery leak.

So also there is (basic oxide of Cu) deposits at C427

This box had a very bad battery leak. :-O

Good luck Joe!



#89 Northerner

Northerner
  • Members (SA)
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationNorth East UK

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:36 PM

Wow some serious work going on here....pretty impressed...you deserve to get this one booming so keep up the good work! :-) :-)

#90 blu_fuz

blu_fuz
  • Moderators
  • 10,508 posts
  • LocationWI

Posted 19 January 2014 - 04:50 PM



I believe that is a test lead!

I could be wrong!

 

The leads of R404, R424 (low value resistor built into the PC board) got lots of oxidation that looks from battery leak.

So also there is (basic oxide of Cu) deposits at C427

This box had a very bad battery leak. :-O

 

So the brown wire might not need to go anywhere?

 

 

 

 

I think you are right that there was a battery leak. You can see the copper grounding plate is pretty green at the bottom of the rear case picture shown above. I was wondering where all this green oxidation might have come from:

 

Attached File  1-19-14 002.jpg   84.58K   15 downloads