Sanyo M9990 Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebeardedlady

Member (SA)
Jun 28, 2011
Scotland
Hi,

Iv decided to take apart, hopefully fix and clean my sanyo after its been sat on a shelf for weeks gathering more dust! Im still new to this so need a little help. Here are the problems with it;

Record button does not stay down when pressed,

Tape Player not working (inside i can see that the bands etc are not right, does anyone know how it should be set up?)

No noise from the tuner at all. (the slider moves along but it does not pick up anything/the lights dont work)

How do i get it apart to look at all this stuff? I have taken off the back cover but i can not seem to disconnect all the circuits to get at the tape deck.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

thebeardedlady

Member (SA)
Jun 28, 2011
Scotland
Update.

I have got it totally apart so now the deep clean can begin! Anyone know how to get the chrome (and fragile!) dust caps all clean and shiny, they seem really stained?!

baddboybill

Member (SA)
Jul 14, 2009
Hudson Florida
thebeardedlady said:
Update.

I have got it totally apart so now the deep clean can begin! Anyone know how to get the chrome (and fragile!) dust caps all clean and shiny, they seem really stained?!
spray a small amount of glass cleaner on soft paper towels and wipe down. For stubborn rust you may have to use a scouring pad but use gently and try not to get speakers wet :-D

Superduper

Member (SA)
thebeardedlady said:
Hi,
Record button does not stay down when pressed,

Tape Player not working (inside i can see that the bands etc are not right, does anyone know how it should be set up?)

No noise from the tuner at all. (the slider moves along but it does not pick up anything/the lights dont work)

How do i get it apart to look at all this stuff? I have taken off the back cover but i can not seem to disconnect all the circuits to get at the tape deck.